Rainbodhi Singapore

In the largely conservative Singaporean society, a few voices are actively championing the cause of equality, inclusion and diversity for the LGBTQIA+ community. Rainbodhi Singapore will play an important role amongst Buddhist organisations, providing a platform for discussion, representation and mentoring for the LGBTQIA+ community. Now is the time for Buddhists to show their love and support for the LGBTQIA+ community.

“LGBTQIA+ people face challenges in everyday life in Singapore, including Section 377A that bars intercourse between men, and a lack of human right protections against discrimination. LGBTQ organizations also cannot register as legal entities.”

Since our Australian debut in 2019, Rainbodhi has established itself as an international organisation through online events, videos and advocacy resources. The launch of Rainbodhi Singapore is a new international chapter, aiming to build on these successful activities by creating dynamic events especially for the Singaporean community. Rainbodhi SG will become a community leader throughout Asia, allowing LGBTQIA+ Buddhists to join together in spiritual friendship in safe and supportive spaces. 

Rainbodhi Singapore Leads the Way for LGBTQIA+ Buddhists in Asia.

Rainbodhi Singapore is the first international chapter of Rainbodhi and aims to be a community leader in Singapore and Asia, allowing LGBTQIA+ Buddhists to join together in spiritual friendship in safe and supportive spaces.

Kyle Neo, the leader of Rainbodhi Singapore, discusses the importance of a LGBTQIA+ affirming spiritual community and why advocacy is needed:

Singapore’s shift in attitudes towards gay rights is visible in the last few years. A recent survey by the Institute of Policy Studies* in Singapore reveals a rise in support for marriage equality, with 6 out of 10 people aged below 25 in favour. In the largely conservative Singaporean society, a few voices are actively championing the cause of equality, inclusion and diversity for the LGBTQIA+ community. Rainbodhi Singapore will play an important role amongst Buddhist organisations, providing a platform for discussion, representation and mentoring for the LGBTQIA+ community. Now is the time for Buddhists to show their love and support for the LGBTQIA+ community.

Speaking about Rainbodhi Singapore’s debut event, Kyle Neo says a highlight of the session will be the launch of a new resource for Buddhists:

We are delighted that this event will also see the launch of Rainbodhi’s brand new resource, Welcoming the Rainbow: A Guide to LGBTQIA+ Inclusion for Buddhists, with free copies made available for distribution. This resource aims to  help make Buddhist centres more aware and welcoming of the LGBTQIA+ Buddhist community.

 

What will Rainbodhi Singapore Offer to the LGBTQIA+ Buddhist Community?

Following the success of Rainbodhi, Rainbodhi Singapore intends to build on these successful activities, by creating dynamic and interactive events especially for the Singaporean community, aspires to care for the LGBTQIA+ Buddhist community in Singapore by providing a safe space for anyone who identifies as LGBTQIA+ or questioning to engage in Buddhist community practice; such as discussion groups, social gatherings, retreats, and spiritual educational programs.

*https://lkyspp.nus.edu.sg/docs/default-source/ips/ips-working-paper-34—religion-morality-and-conservatism-in-singapore.pdf

Monthly Online Practice Group

Rainbodhi SG offers a monthly online peer-led study group, to help us in our busy lives by encouraging us to Hear/Watch > Reflect > Practice together.

Session Format

  • Short meditation (10 mins).

  • Sharing of video clip or an excerpt from a book (10 mins)

  • Small group discussion. (20 mins)

  • Personal in-depth reflection in silence(10 mins)

  • Sharing with group the ways we can apply the Dharma in daily life. (30 mins)

  • Dedication of merits (5mins)

The group meets on the last Friday of every month.

Everyone welcome. 
Make sure you check your timezone
Sydney: 9:30pm | Perth: 7:30pm | Bangkok: 6:30pm | London: 12:30pm | Paris: 1:30pm | New York: 7:30am | Los Angeles: 4:30am

A person standing in the road, waving and smiling

Rainbodhi Singapore Leader – Kyle Neo

Kyle Neo (He/Him) is the leader of Rainbodhi Singapore. He is a designer, mentor and humanitarian volunteer, as well as the editor in chief for an online Buddhist publication, Kusala. He is the founder of Gift Back Movement and raised funds to help prevent human trafficking by walking 375kms from Bangkok to the Burmese border. He is also a cancer survivor, and has shared his experience with cancer in his book Monk Key, and has developed an app adapted from the Monk Key Book that addresses mental well-being in Asia. In 2021 he helped organise Rainbodhi’s Buddhist Toolkit online series and regularly contributes to Rainbodhi’s design needs.